ICC World Cup 2023: Shikhar Dhawan Returns to the Team

Excitement Builds as India Prepares to Host the 2023 ODI World Cup

ICC World Cup 2023: This year, after 2011, the ODI World Cup will be held in India, and there is a lot of enthusiasm among all cricket fans. In 2011, the Indian team successfully won the title, with Mahendra Singh Dhoni as the captain. However, in this World Cup, the team will be led by Rohit Sharma.

ICC World Cup 2023
ICC World Cup 2023

The selectors have announced the Indian team for the 2023 World Cup, and the return of veteran opener Shikhar Dhawan has brought immense joy to cricket fans. Shikhar Dhawan was out of the team for a long time, and he was sent with the youth team as captain against West Indies and Sri Lanka. But now, he will be a part of the regular team and will open the innings with Rohit Sharma.

The decision to bring Shikhar Dhawan back into the team was made after Lokesh Rahul got injured during the IPL. Recently appointed chief selector Ajit Agarkar considered Dhawan’s experience and included him in the team.

The Full Schedule and Timings of ICC World Cup 2023 Revealed

The ODI World Cup will be played from October 5 to November 19, with the first match between New Zealand and England. The Indian team will play their first match against five-time world champions Australia on October 8 in Chennai.

The tournament will be played at 10 different venues, and for the first time, the entire tournament will be hosted in India. The 2011 tournament was held in Sri Lanka, Bangladesh, and India. Since 2011, the Indian team hasn’t been able to win any ICC trophy, reaching the semi-finals in the 2015 and 2019 World Cups.

Wasim Jaffer’s Dream Squad for the 2023 ODI World Cup

Former player and domestic cricket veteran Wasim Jaffer has selected his team for the World Cup, including Rohit Sharma, Shubman Gill, and Shikhar Dhawan as openers.

In the bowling section, Wasim Jaffer has chosen Afsar Patel over Ravichandran Ashwin and included Ravindra Jadeja and Kuldeep Yadav along with Axar Patel.

There are three contenders for the fourth position in Team India, namely Shreyas Iyer, Suryakumar Yadav, and Sanju Samson. The team has been searching for the right batsman at number four for a long time. It will be interesting to see which player the selectors include in the team for this position.

For Latest Cricket Updates Click here…